2020 Louis J. Amabili Memorial Firefighter of the Year
By Firefighter David Pearce III
July 18, 2022

This past Wednesday at the New Castle County Volunteer Firefighter’s Association, Past President/Honorary member Debra Finocchiaro was presented with the 2020 Louis J. Amabili Memorial Firefighter of the Year.

On June 4th, 2012 the Board of Directors and membership voted unanimously to accept Debbie as an Honorary Member due to her exemplary service and dedication during our building renovations, in addition to continued support of any fire company needs.

Debbie went on to serve Brandywine Hundred Fire Company as Vice President for 7 consecutive years, followed by President. She’s served on or chaired numerous committees including the Membership, Building & Maintenance, Fire Prevention, Workers Compensation & Relief Insurance, Grant Writing, the list goes on.

Debbie was awarded Firefighter of the Year in 2016 and also received the Chiefs Award in 2018.

During the early stages of the pandemic; Debbie ensured the company had all the necessary equipment to keep the members and career staff safe, overseen the in-house testing making herself available at all different days and times.

Debbie accomplished all these outstanding achievements while responding to hundreds of emergencies day and night and being a devoted mother.